Action Item May 13 2015

Action Item May 13, 2015
(Update from NorCal Regional CCHC Oppose SB277)

From everything our team has learned, the authors will be bringing 277 to a floor vote tomorrow, Thursday, May 14th. The Senate Floor viewing area is small, very different than committee hearings that you have been to previously. Also, the authors can decide to pull the bill at the last minute, and put it on the agenda for a different day. We need to show our CCHC presence at the Capitol tomorrow… filling the hallways and clogging up the elevators!)

1). Senate floor session starts at 9:00am in the historic side of the building. There will be no expert witnesses, and no me-too’s. The Senators will have an opportunity for a “debate” if they so choose.

2). Bring multiple copies of your personal opposition letter to hand out to your Assembly offices, and a few other Assemblymembers for good measure! Take one to the Governor’s office too. I would love to see a LONG red line at the Governor’s door…in a RESPECTFUL way. Make sure your name and address are on them to be counted officially. And as always, please have a NO on SB277 tagline at the top or beginning of the letter.

3). Your Senators’ phones should be ringing off the hook today and tomorrow! (Except for Anderson, Moorlach, Nielsen, and Morrell)

4). GOOD LUCK to all of you with local rallies today!! Please keep us updated throughout the day!

If you don’t already know who your district Senator is, you can look that information up at the following link:

For those of us in District 1, Ted Gaines is our Senator.
Ted Gaines (R) (916) 651-4001

We have targeted the following Senators because they have either not stated their position or we are hoping to flip them to opposition or we want to help ensure their vote remains a No vote or because we want to give them more motivation to fight hard for us on the Senate floor.

Patricia C. Bates (R) (916) 651-4036
Tom Berryhill (R) (916) 651-4008
Anthony Cannella (R) (916) 651-4012
Jean Fuller (R) (916) 651-4016
Ted Gaines (R) (916) 651-4001
Cathleen Galgiani (D) (916) 651-4005
Loni Hancock (D) (916) 651-4009
Ed Hernandez (D) (916) 651-4022
Ben Hueso (D) (916) 651-4040
Bob Huff (R) (916) 651-4029
Ricardo Lara (D) (916) 651-4033
Connie Leyva (D) (916) 651-4020
John M. W. Moorlach (R) (916) 651-4037 (call only to say “Thanks for Opposing!”)
Mike Morrell (R) (916) 651-4023 (call only to say “Thanks for Opposing!”)
Janet Nguyen (R) (916) 651-4034
Fran Pavley (D) (916) 651-4027
Richard Roth (D) (916) 651-4031
Andy Vidak (R) (916) 651-4014